Board of Directors

The RF Board of Directors is responsible for ensuring its corporate bylaws are consistent with all statutory and regulatory guidance and best practices in non-profit governance. The Audit & Finance Committee is responsible for overseeing the audit function, material compliance and legal issues, and the overall RF system of controls. The Executive Committee is responsible for ensuring good governance and practices within the board. Other committees include the Nominating Committee, the Finance Committee and the Investment Committee. Each committee is governed by the bylaws and a charter that outlines its specific responsibilities. The SUNY Chancellor serves as an advisory member on the RF Board of Directors.

photo to be used in grid Mr. Daniel C. Tomson, Chair
Managing Director
Citigroup Global Markets, Inc.
photo to be used in grid  Ms. Eileen G. Whelley, Vice Chair
Retired Chief Human Resources Officer
XL Group
Robert S. Azeke, Managing Partner, Farol Asset Management Mr. Robert S. Azeke
Managing Partner
Farol Asset Management
Robert Balanchandran grid picture Mr. Robert P. Balachandran, Esq
BellRow Title Agency
Mr. Jeffrey Black Mr. Jeffrey H. Black
Retired Senior Partner and Vice Chairman
Deloitte LLP
photo to be used in BOD grids Mr. Eric L. Cochran
Retired Partner
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
photo to be used in grid Ms. Hillary D. Hansen
Partner, Financial Services Office
Ernst & Young Global Limited
photo to be used in grid Colonel Timothy J. Lawrence
Director, Information Directorate, and 
Commander, Detachment 4
Air Force Research Laboratory
grid image Dr. Maurie D. McInnis
Stony Brook University
Rockefeller Institute of Government President, Robert Megna Mr. Robert L. Megna
Rockefeller Institute of Government
Diane M. Minas Ms. Diane M. Minas
EHS Technology Leader
General Electric's Global Research Center (GRC)
photo to be used in grid Dr. Bahgat G. Sammakia
Distinguished Professor, Vice President of Research
Binghamton University
photo to be used in grid Mr. Edward M. Spiro
Morvillo Abramowitz Grand Iason & Anello P.C.
Dr. Harvey Stenger  Dr. Harvey G. Stenger
Binghamton University 
The State University of New York
Sathish Tripathi photo  Dr. Satish K. Tripathi
University at Buffalo
The State University of New York  

Advisory Members

image used for grid Dr. Shadi Shahedipour-Sandvik
Senior Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Economic Development
and Provost-in-Charge
The State University of New York
image used for grid  Ms. Deborah F. Stanley
The State University of New York

Board Chair Emeritus

Mr. John Fitzgibbons Mr. John B. Fitzgibbons
Founder, Chairman and CEO
Basin Holdings

A committee structure facilitates the oversight work of the RF board. The committees and their purposes include:

Learn more about the RF

In Memoriam

Dr. Alan Gintzler

Dr. Alan Gintzler was a Board member of the Research Foundation from 2012 until his passing in 2021. He served as the Chair of the Nominating Committee from 2019-2021 and served on the Audit & Finance and Executive Committees for many years.  Dr. Gintzler will always be remembered for his approachable manner, his deep knowledge and love of research, teaching and technology.  
We will miss his keen sense of humor and undeniable wit.  Dr. Gintzler will be greatly missed by the Downstate Medical Center community, his friends at the Research Foundation and of course, his loving family.

Downstate Message on Passing of Dr. Gintzler


Board of Directors Staff


Secretary - Christopher L. Ashley
(518) 434-7045

Assistant Secretary - Joshua B. Toas
(518) 434-7145

Board of Directors Coordinator - Nancy A. Clarke
(518) 434-7227