Funded Projects

 

Class of 2018| Class of 2017 | Class of 2016 | Class of 2015 | Class of 2014 Fall | Class of 2014 Spring | Class of 2013 | Class of 2012 | Class of 2011 

 

 

TAF Class of 2018

Six SUNY-developed technologies received over $200,000 to spur commercialization.  The technologies selected span ground-breaking advancements in diagnostics, vaccines, chemical manufacturing, and new materials.

TAF Class of 2018 Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Igor Lednev, University at Albany

Alzheimer's Disease Diagnostic
University at Albany
Dr. Igor Lednev
ilednev@albany.edu

Dr. Chuan-Jian Zhong, Binghamton University

New Catalyst Technology for Emission Control Systems
Binghamton University
Dr. Chuan-Jian Zhong
cjzhong@binghamton.edu

Dr. Blaine Pfeifer, University at Buffalo

Staph Infection Vaccine
University at Buffalo
Dr. Blaine Pfeifer
blainepf@buffalo.edu

Dr. Nicolas Brunet, Downstate Medical Center 

Dr. Stephen Macknik, Downstate Medical Center

Video Eye Tracking Method
SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Dr. Nicholas Brunet and Dr. Stephen Macknik
nicholas.brunet@downstate.edu
stephen.macknik@downstate.edu

Dr. Anurag Purwar, Stony Brook University

SnappyXO Robotics Framework
Stony Brook University
Dr. Anurag Purwar
anurag.purwar@stonybrook.edu

Dr. Jacqueline Bennett, SUNY Oneonta

Dr. Eric Helms, SUNY Geneseo 

Green Process for Synthesizing Imine Building Blocks for Pharmaceuticals
SUNY Oneonta and SUNY Geneseo
Dr. Eric Helms and Dr. Jacqueline Bennett
jacqueline.bennett@oneonta.edu
helms@geneseo.edu

 

TAF Class of 2017

Four SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $200,000 to advance commercial readiness of technologies touching information technology, materials, medical devices, drug delivery, and therapeutics. >TAF Class of 2017 Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Daniele Fabris, University at Albany 

Innovating Quick and Accurate Testing in Dairy Production
University at Albany
Dr. Daniele Fabris
fabris@albany.edu

Dr. Susan Bane, Binghamton University 

Connecting Biomolecules for Cancer Treatment or Medical Imaging
Binghamton University
Dr. Susan Bane
Sbane@binghamton.edu

Dr. Sathy Balu-lyer, University at Buffalo 

Increasing the Success Rate of Therapeutics
University at Buffalo
Dr. Sathy Balu-lyer
svb@buffalo.edu

Dr. Patanjali Parimi, SUNY Oswego 

Enabling Fast and Secure Data Transfer
SUNY Oswego
Dr. Patanjali Panimi
parimi@oswego.edu

 

 

TAF Class of 2016

Six SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $300,000 to advance commercial readiness of technologies touching information technology, materials, medical devices, drug delivery, and therapeutics. > 

Dr. Wayne Jones 


Binghamton University
Dr. Wayne Jones
wjones@binghamton.edu

Dr. Qing Lin 


University at Buffalo
Dr. Qing Lin

qinglin@buffalo.edu

Dr. Mark Stewart 


SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Dr. Mark Stewart
mark.stewart@downstate.edu

Dr. Christopher Nomura 


SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Dr. Christopher Nomura
ctnomura@esf.edu

Dr. Christopher Neville 

Dr. Brian Rieger

Mobile App for Real Time Traumatic Brain Injury Assessment
Upstate Medical University
Dr. Christopher Neville
nevillec@upstate.edu

Dr. Brian Rieger
riegerb@upstate.edu
image used in table 


University at Albany
Dr. Igor Lednev

ilednev@albany.edu

 

 

TAF Class of 2015

Six SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $275,000 to advance innovations for the treatment of neurological disease and obesity, as well as the development of technologies for diagnostics, experimentation, and therapy. > Class of 2015 Application and Administrative Guidelines

 


University at Buffalo
Dr. Glenna Bett
bett@buffalo.edu

Dr. Rabi Musah, University at Albany 


University at Albany
Dr. Rabi Musah
musah@albany.edu

 


Stony Brook University
Dr. Annie Rohan
Annie.Rohan@stonybrook.edu

image used in table 


Downstate Medical Center
Dr. Paul Maccabee
paul.maccabee@downstate.edu

 


Upstate Medical University
Dr. William Kerr
kerrw@upstate.edu

 


Buffalo State College
Dr. Tomás Henriques
henriqjt@buffalostate.edu

 

 

TAF Class of 2014 Fall

Five SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $250,000 to advance innovations for the treatment of heart disease, breast cancer, and spinal cord disorders. > Class of 2014 Fall Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Jason Armstrong 


University at Buffalo
Dr. Jason Armstrong
Jna4@buffalo.edu

Dr. Douglas Conklin 

Repurposing Existing Drug for a More Effective Treatment of Breast Cancer
University at Albany
Dr. Douglas Conklin
dconklin@albany.edu

Dr. Thomas Floyd 


Stony Brook University
Dr. Thomas Floyd
Thomas.floyd@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Dr. M. Mahmood Hussain 


Downstate Medical Center
Dr. M. Mahmood Hussain
Mahmood.hussain@downstate.edu

Dr. Wayne E. Jones 


Binghamton University
Dr. Wayne E. Jones
wjones@binghamton.edu

 

 

TAF Class of 2014 Spring

Five promising SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $250,000. These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in medical imaging, pharmaceutical, fine chemical, petrochemical, and refining industries. > Class of 2014 Spring Application and Administrative Guidelines

Dr. Steven Diver 

Scavengers Provide Quick Recovery of Precious Metals
University at Buffalo
Dr. Steven Diver
driver@buffalo.edu

Dr. Gary Nieman 

Lifesaving Treatment for Abdominal Trauma and Sepsis
Upstate Medical University
Dr. Gary Nieman
niemang@upstate.edu

Dr. Susan Sharfstein 

Fake Eyes for Glaucoma Screening
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
Dr. Susan Sharfstein
ssharfstein@albany.edu
Technology Receives Angel Investment

Dr. Balaji Sitharaman 

Low-Dose MRI Contrast Agent for Renal Imaging
Stony Brook University
Dr. Balaji Sitharaman
balaji.sitharaman@stonybrook.edu

Dr. Leslie Ying 

Super-Fast MRI
University at Buffalo
Dr. Leslie Ying
leiying@buffal.edu

 

 

TAF Class of 2013 Spring

Five promising SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $250,000. These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in nanotechnology, novel cancer therapeutics and diagnostics, the production of biodiesel, and research tool metrology.  > Class of 2013 Spring Application and Administrative Guidelines 

Dr. Jason Armstrong 

Smaller, Lighter Electronics and Medical Devices
University at Buffalo
Dr. Jason Armstrong
jna4@buffalo.edu

Shadi Sandvik 

Quality Control for Semiconductor Devices
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
Dr. Shadi Shahedipour-Sandvik 
sshahedipour-sandvik@sunypoly.edu

Henri Tiedge 

Early Detection of Breast Cancer
Downstate Medical Center
Dr. Henri Tiedge
tiedge@hscbklyn.edu

Sabine Brouxhon 

New Therapy for Breast and Other Cancers
Stony Brook University
Dr. Sabine Brouxhon

Stewart Loh

Arthur Stipanovic

Biomass to Bioethanol
Upstate Medical University
Dr. Stewart N. Loh
lohs@upstate.edu
College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Dr. Arthur J. Stipanovic
astipano@esf.edu 

 

 

TAF Class of 2012

Six promising SUNY-developed technologies received a total of $300,000. These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in multispectral imaging, energy-cost reduction, novel antibiotics, assistance for the disabled, weight-loss and suicide prevention. > Class of 2012 Application and Administrative Guidelines 

Paul Agris 

New Antibiotics for Drug-Resistant Infections
University at Albany, The RNA Institute
Dr. Paul Agris
pagris@albany.edu

Alexander Cartwright 

True Color Detection for Advanced Manufacturing
University at Buffalo
Dr. Alexander Cartwright

Kenneth McLeod 

Personal Heating System for Weight Loss
Binghamton University
Dr. Kenneth McLeod
kmcleod@binghamton.edu

Anurag Purwar 

A Mobility Assist Sit to Stand Device for Improved Quality of Life
Stony Brook University
Dr. Anurag Purwar
anurag.purwar@stonybrook.edu

Sarbajit Banerjee 

Smart Windows for the Improved Energy Efficiency of Buildings
University at Buffalo
Professor Sarbajit Banjeree

Andrew Kaufman 

Wireless Suicide Detection System
Upstate Medical University
Dr. Andrew Kaufman
kaufman@upstate.edu

 

 

TAF Class of 2011

Five promising SUNY-developed technology received a total of $500,000.  These innovations span groundbreaking advancements in energy, diagnostics, therapeutics, engineering, and biomimetics. > Class of 2011 Application and Administrative Guidelines 

Ron Miles 

New Microphone Design to Improve Hearing Aids
Binghamton University
Dr. Ronald Miles
miles@binghamton.edu

Thomas Szyperski 

A Screening Test for Early Detection of Ovarian Cancer
University at Buffalo
Dr. Thomas Szyperski
szypersk@acsu.buffalo.edu

Scott Tenenbaum 

Targeting a Cell’s RNA to Create Novel Diagnostic Tools 
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
Dr. Scott Tenenbaum
stenenbaum@albany.edu 

Read the Press Release:
Governor Cuomo Announces Technology Developed at SUNY Attracts New Investment 

Edward Quadros 

A New Test to Identify Birth Defect Risk and Developmental Disorders 
Downstate Medical Center
Dr. Edward Quadros
Edward.Quadros@downstate.edu

Lei Zuo 

Harvesting Vehicle Vibration into Usable Energy
Stony Brook University
Dr. Lei Zuo